The Honey Farm on the Hill – Book Review

Hey guys!

I was lucky enough to receive The Honey Farm on the Hill for review from Bookbridgr and Headline Review. This was my first time receiving a proof copy so it’s pretty exciting!

The fact that I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review will in no way affect my opinions and thoughts on the novel.

Screenshot_2017-08-12-12-04-28-1

The Honey Farm on the Hill by Jo Thomas


“We never forget the one who got away.  

Eighteen years ago Nell fell in love in the mountains of Crete and life changed for ever. Nell’s daughter, Demi, has never met her dad. Nell never saw him again. When she gets the chance to return to the hilltop town of Vounoplagia – where everything began – Nell can’t resist the urge to go back and find him. Working on a honey farm perched high up in the hills, there’s plenty to keep her busy. And she will quickly realise the town harbours just as many secrets as she does. But if Nell’s favourite romantic films are right, there’s a happy ending in store for each of us. All she has to do is seek out the magic of the mountains…

Jo Thomas takes you there.”

This book should come with a warning: ‘Will make you want to move to Crete and eat all the local food!’ If there was ever a book that transported me to a different place whilst reading it, this would be it. I read The Honey Farm on the Hill over several rainy miserable English days (typical), but felt as though I was in the mountains of rural Crete.

Nell is the perfect example of a real character – her life is unpolished and messy, and she makes mistakes like the rest of us. I love to see reality in books, as I feel you can relate to it so much more.

I was charmed by the descriptions of Vounoplagia, the lovable characters, and the detail of the town’s food (seriously, it made me hungry). Nell’s life on the honey farm, the town and mountain where she stays, and the mystery surrounding the towns downfall kept me intrigued and wanting to know more.

Although the story was a bit slow throughout, the short chapters (often between 3 and 7 pages) kept me interested and allowed me to pick it up and put it down as I pleased. The slow pace actually worked in the books favour in this scenario, as it felt like a relaxed, summer read.

I will admit that at times The Honey Farm on the Hill was repetitive with some obvious plot points. I felt as though the same information was relayed over and over again, and even the exact same lines repeated by the characters. I’m not too sure why this was, but it added nothing to the story.

When writing my notes for this post, the last thing I wrote after finishing the book was ‘fulfilling’, which for me sums it up perfectly. It was a simple read, yet you left feeling happy and that the story was wrapped up neatly. This read would be perfect for a summer holiday, and I wish I had read it on mine!

Rating: 3.75* /5

The Honey Farm on the Hill is published by Headline Review and is now available in paperback (£7.99), Ebook and Audio download.


Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

Follow/add me on Goodreads – Originally Lexy

Leave a Reply

