Stila Magnificent Metals Lip Gloss – Makeup Collection #3

Hey guys!

I recently noticed that a lot of my makeup reviews on this blog are mostly positive. This isn’t because I want to suck up to brands (like they’d notice anyway), but because I always do research on a makeup product before I buy it so it’s not a waste of money.

So, I thought it was time to present to you a review that will be mostly negative. Which I’m oddly excited about, go figure haha.


Screenshot_2017-07-24-10-41-42-1

I found this Stila Magnificent Metals Lip Gloss in TK Maxx for £4 instead of the RRP of £15, so thought it was worth the gamble. I hadn’t tried anything from Stila before, and my first experience doesn’t make me willing to try more.

Starting with the positives, the overall look of this gloss is beautiful. The packaging itself feel very luxurious with the transparent tube, gold band, and the silver lid which has Stila’s logo embossed on top.

Screenshot_2017-07-24-10-44-37-1-1

The gloss itself appears to be a pigmented shimmery soft pink (I have the shade Kitten), and the light reflects little gold specks. However, it does not look the same on the lips.

The applicator of this is very flimsy; it seems intentional but isn’t the best for controlling where you want to place the product. When you apply the gloss to the lips, all hint of the gorgeous pink colour in the tube is gone.

Screenshot_2017-07-24-10-50-17-1-1

You’re left with a clear gloss with shimmering gold flecks, which in itself wouldn’t be too bad if it wasn’t for the god awful formula. If anyone ever needed a definition for a sticky lip gloss, this would be it.

Usually I’m not bothered by a bit of tackiness in a gloss, but the only comparison I have for this product is superglue. Even after you remove it, you’re left with a residual stickiness that takes a few washes to get rid of.

I have tried to love this product so many times but I just can’t. It’s such a shame because this could have been an excellent lip topper, but it’s so sticky it’s unbearable. At least it looks sophisticated in my makeup collection.

Rating: 2* /5 (for the packaging)


Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

3 thoughts on “Stila Magnificent Metals Lip Gloss – Makeup Collection #3

Leave a Reply

