The Devil Wears Prada – Book Review

Hey guys!

I was in the mood to read a chick-lit book for the summer, so I pulled this from my TBR and set to work. Read on for my thoughts!

Screenshot_2017-07-16-14-30-40-1-1

The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger


Genre:

Chick-Lit, Contemporary

Plot:

Aspiring writer Andy Sachs lands a job as the assistant to Runway magazine’s notoriously cruel and cold editor, Miranda Priestly. Lost in a world of designer clothes and fashionistas, Andy is out of place.

To make matters worse, her boss sets her impossible tasks (‘get me a copy of the latest unpublished Harry Potter book!’) and makes her work late into the night, all whilst maintaining her signature demanding and demeaning nature.

Will Andy survive her year at Runway and make it to her dream job as writer?

What I Loved:

I devoured this book – I couldn’t put it down because I needed to know what horrific task Miranda would set next for Andy. Just when you thought things couldn’t get any more ridiculous, they escalated to a whole other level.

Andy was a completely relatable character, she had her awkward and unsure moments as well as a hilarious inner monologue. The demands of her job and her reactions to them were very believable, and she was someone everyone can relate to at some point in their life.

Characters aside, the whole book was incredibly entertaining. It had a fast pace (which I always love to see), and Weisberger has perfected the comedic style of writing. I found myself honestly rooting for Andy, I was getting angry alongside her as she got more and more frustrated with her job, and cheered her on as the book ended.

What I Didn’t Love:

As I said before I found the book as a whole fun to read, so I struggled for a criticism. Is this going to become a modern classic as an example of fine writing? No.

Weisberger repeated the line ‘a million girls would die for your/this job’ about a million times (maybe an exaggeration). However, this book was so entertaining and a perfect chick-lit that it doesn’t seem to matter.

Overall Thoughts:

If you’re looking for a fun, easy read by the side of the pool, definitely give this a go.

Rating: 4.5* /5


Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

2 thoughts on “The Devil Wears Prada – Book Review

Leave a Reply

