Eat Pray Love – Book Review

Hey guys!

So we all know this one, the super huge bestseller and favourite of book clubs that became a pretty well-known film (which I have not seen). I went into this pretty blind, and left with so many mixed feelings! Never before have I felt so conflicted on what rating to give or even if I hated it, liked it, or loved it. This is also the first non-fiction I have read in a long time so I’m patting myself on the back for that one!

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth GilbertScreenshot_2017-07-08-13-53-27-1


Genre:

Non-Fiction, Memoir

Plot:

Elizabeth Gilbert has just come out of a messy divorce, and wants to finally have a sense of fulfillment in her life. She sets off on a year long journey to three destinations – Rome, in the pursuit of pleasure, India, in the pursuit of devotion, and Indonesia, in pursuit of balance.

This book takes the reader through the highs and lows of recovering from heartbreak, finding your passions and pleasures, and discovering how to connect to faith.

What I Loved:

I really liked the overall message of the book, which was that if you are unhappy, you need to pursue whatever it is you want in life, no matter what it takes (how profound was that?! I could have written this book). I think it’s always an important message that often gets forgotten.

Eat Pray Love has dragged me out of my reading slump ~yay~. If you read my last review, you will know the last two books I read disappointed me, so now I can read alllll the epic books.

The books is split into three parts, of the three different countries Elizabeth visits. My favourite by far was her description of her time spent in Italy. She describes places brilliantly, as well as having a sense of humour about it. I now want to go to Italy and eat all the pasta!

A large aspect of Gilbert’s trip is to find spiritual enlightenment, and to find out how to connect to God. I found this quite interesting, as I could understand the guilt and hardship that she felt at times coming to terms with faith and meditation in order to reach her religion.

What I Didn’t Love:

THE ENTIRE MIDDLE SECTION OF THIS BOOK. In the second part she visits India, where she spends her time in a temple learning a form of meditation that will help her reach God. That would be fine, if it didn’t read like extracts from a textbook.

It’s almost as though the book was written by two different people. For the most part of the book she writes about her travels, people and places etc. However some of it is almost a lecture on certain religions, mediation techniques, gurus, and quite a bit more. Maybe the author was trying to make it easier for the reader to understand what she was doing, but honestly if I was so interested I would have done further research myself.

I genuinely had to push myself through the middle portion of this book, similar to how Elizabeth pushed herself to continue her rigorous meditation (how symbolic). It’s never good to have to grit your teeth and carry on reading.

Overall Thoughts:

I will quickly say I was glad I pushed through, as the last third of the book was similar to the first and enjoyable to read. If there was no middle section this book would have easily rated at 4.5, but sadly it let it down.

Rating: 3.75* /5


Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

3 thoughts on “Eat Pray Love – Book Review

Leave a Reply

