Throne of Glass – Book Review

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass 

*spoiler free review*

Screenshot_2017-05-20-19-46-31-1

I think I might be the last person on earth to start this series, but at least I finally got round to it! I initially bought this book as a Christmas present for my boyfriend, who after reading it proceeded to buy the rest. As he enjoyed it so much I decided to borrow it – so read on for my thoughts!

Genre:

Fantasy, Young Adult

Plot:

Celaena Sardothien was once the most notorious assassin in the land, but has now been banished to lifetime imprisonment, slaving in the salt mines of Endovier. But one day she is offered a deal by a Prince and his Captain – win a tournament set up by the King to become his champion, and after 5 years she shall be free.

Her journey to win her freedom is filled with ruthless competitors, disturbing and mysterious events, and even romance.

What I Loved:

I always enjoy a good fantasy read, and this did not disappoint. It had the classic format of the genre, which meant I could easily be sucked in by the plot.

However, that doesn’t mean I wasn’t surprised by the book. About a third of the way in it took a turn I wasn’t expecting, as *slight spoiler* magic started to be introduced. Although I expected some fantastical elements, it wasn’t represented in a way I expected.

The characters in the book were what made it for me. I enjoyed seeing their development as the main trio of Celaena, Chaol and Dorian got to know each other.

What I Didn’t Love:

Not really as dislike, but more of a wish would have been to read more about the various tasks the competitors completed in the tournament. The book would just say something along the lines of ‘a few days passed and another task was done’. I found the tasks to be one of my favourite parts to read, so would liked to have read more.

If we want to speak about tropes, then the love triangle element was definitely there in this book. I didn’t necessarily dislike it, but I’m getting a bit tired of seeing it in YA.

Lastly, I have to say that the plot twists in this book were fairly obvious. That’s actually a big deal coming from me, as I tend to never guess by not analysing a plot too much, as I like to be surprised. So the fact there wasn’t much surprise was a bit disappointing.

Overall Thoughts:

I really did like this book, and it was a quick, fun read. I have been informed that the series only gets better from here on out and makes the first book look awful, so I’m excited to see what’s in store next.

Rating: 4* /5

 

Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

 

One thought on “Throne of Glass – Book Review

Leave a Reply

