Gemina – Book Review

Welcome back to yet another book review posted on a seemingly random day! I am yet to figure out whether I want to have a schedule for blog posts, or if I should continue to just write when inspiration hits…

Onto the subject of today’s post, Gemina! This is the second book in The Illuminae Files series (which I think will be a trilogy??). Therefore, if you have not read Illuminae, this review will contain spoilers for you. You have been warned!

2017-04-18 12.58.16.jpg

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Genre:

Sci-Fi, Young Adult

Plot:

The story continues as the BeiTech team head to Jump Station Heimdall, to remove all traces and knowledge of the invasion on Kerenza. Hanna, the Captain’s daughter, and Nik, a member of a gang, are among two of the residents aboard the Station with no clue what is about to hit.

When BeiTech arrive, the pair are forced to fight for their lives against deadly killers, stop the wormhole ripping open the universe, and try not to be murdered by an alien species.

What I Loved:

I don’t even know where to start, because I’ll say outright this book was a 5/5 for me. I had read Illuminae about a year before picking up Gemina (I was waiting for the paperback), and had completely forgotten how gripping these books are.

Starting with the obvious, the huge merit to this book is the format. The story is told through messages, emails, reports, and transcripts, which makes reading it such a fun experience. A new addition to Gemina is the illustrated pages from Hanna’s diary, drawn by Marie Lu! I loved seeing these pages, and I wish there had been more of them (maybe there could be a companion novel that is Hanna’s journal Kaufman/Kristoff, hint hint).

2017-04-18 13.03.14.jpg

The Illuminae Files series contains some of my favourite characters to date. I was wondering if the ‘Hanna and Nik’ duo would just be a copy of ‘Kady and Ezra’, but I was happy to see they all had different personalities and I could root for them all. And not forgetting Ella! Honestly, I think she is my favourite just from her quick wit, and calling Nik out on ALL CAPS.

If I can ask for just one thing from a book, it’s plot twists, and Gemina certainly provides. Every 20 pages some major event would turn the book on it’s head and cause me a great deal of emotional turmoil, and I loved every second.

One last thing, is the ‘Lollipop’ song. It amused me so much that in the middle of a serious event, this explicit song would be blasting out. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t want to hear it in real life.

What I Didn’t Love:

I can only think of one tiny fault with this book, and even I admit it’s pretty stupid. But why did the Jump Station and the Ship both have to begin with an ‘H’?! I was reading this late at night because I needed to know the ending, but I was so tired that I was becoming confused between the ship and the station to the point of rereading it several times.

I told you it was petty.

Overall Thoughts:

I can’t wait until the next book’s release in 2018. That is all.

Rating: 5* /5

 

Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

One thought on “Gemina – Book Review

Leave a Reply

