April 2017 Birchbox Review

This month I ordered my very first Birchbox to see what all the fuss was about. I liked the idea of trying out new brands and products I hadn’t seen before, and also thought it would be fun to review for my blog.

My box arrived about a week ago, and I have been testing the products inside since. On first impressions, I loved the actual box itself (in collaboration with Boden), and have been using it to store compacts that won’t fit in my usual makeup organisation.

2017-04-16 14.56.33-1.jpg

As for the actual products themselves; initially I was surprised at the size. From what I knew there should have been two full size products out of five, but I could only see one – more on that later. However I was still excited to give them all a go, and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

 

Nip + Fab Colour Correcting Concealer

2017-04-16 15.33.55.jpg

Full Size Product, RRP £8.95

This was the product that first sold me on trying out the April Birchbox. I had been hearing a lot of good things about Nip + Fab, and had been wanting to try them out for some time.

I LOVE this product, and it is my favourite out of the box. I received the concealer in the shade 02 Banana, which is intended to highlight and illuminate skin. The concealer has a nice creamy texture and excellent pigmentation, which blends easily with both fingers and a beauty sponge (I use the latter).

As with most colour correctors, you use this under your base makeup. I found that with this product my under-eyes looked considerably brighter, yet the yellow tone of the concealer doesn’t show through your foundation. I have actually used this with just a powder foundation on top, and as I have quite an olive skin tone it doesn’t look out of place.

Would I repurchase? 100% Yes

 

Manna Kadar Cosmetics High Definition Powder

2017-04-16 15.34.27.jpg

Full Size, RRP £27

According to the leaflet, this was the second full size item in the box – I’m still not totally convinced that it is. The size is similar to that of a regular eyeshadow yet is intended for use all over the face, so I can’t imagine getting a lot of uses from this.

My first impression of this was how cheap the packaging was. For £27 I would like to get something a bit more luxury than standard black plastic if I was paying full price.

However, the actual powder itself is quite nice. It has a smooth texture and applied easily with a powder brush, and made my foundation matte without losing the colour of it. It also lasts pretty much all day with a setting spray, which is a bonus.

Would I repurchase? No, although the powder is nice I think that there are cheaper alternatives with the same quality (and more product)!

 

Polaar IcePure Gentle Scrub

2017-04-16 15.34.54.jpg

Sample Size, Full Size RRP £23.50

Firstly, the packing of this product is gorgeous, so I wanted to love it. According to Birchbox and the Polaar website, this is a facial scrub designed to exfoliate and moisturise skin to leave it smooth and soft.

This product for me was just, eh. There wasn’t much of a scent which I know some people like, but not me personally. I had quite a few dry patches on my face as I tested this product, but it honestly did nothing to remove or soften them.

The plus points to this scrub was that it did moisturise my skin slightly, and left it feeling really nice and clean. I think this product is more suited as a moisturiser/cleanser after makeup removal, rather than an exfoliater.

Would I repurchase? No, I will use it all up but for me it’s nothing life changing.

 

Baija Paris Creme Moana in Fleur de Tiare

2017-04-16 15.32.03.jpg

Sample Size, Full Size RRP £15.90

This body lotion was another total win for me. The packaging for one is beautiful; the tropical pattern reminds me of holidays abroad. But the best part of this for me is the SCENT.

As you can guess from the name it is meant to be a floral scent, but for me it smells almost like a bubblegum type sweet from my childhood (I wish I knew what it was, it’s driving me mad). The actual lotion itself is a really nice consistency that isn’t too thick or too thin, and sinks in very quickly.

I just had a look on the Baija website and they also do this scent in room spray, and I am tempted.

Would I repurchase? Yes, I don’t usually pay so much for body lotion but I think it would be a  nice treat.

 

Amika The Shield Style Extending Spray

2017-04-16 15.33.11.jpg

Sample Size, Full Size RRP £20

I’m not going to lie, it took me a while to figure out what this product was meant to do. I think the name is a little misleading as I expected it to be a styling or texturising spray, but I think it is actually more of a heat protectant to combat frizz.

I have been using this for the past week before blowdrying my hair, and I can see there is a slight reduction of frizz once it’s dry. Again this product has little scent, but I do like the spray can form as it makes it easy to apply.

Although there is a bit of a reduction in frizz, I feel this product doesn’t do a hell of a lot to help my hair.

Would I repurchase? No, but I will continue to use it before heat styling until it’s gone.

 

Lord & Berry Velluto Eye Liner and Shadow in Vero Black

2017-04-16 15.35.49.jpg

Full Size, RRP ~£16

I received this as a free gift for signing up to Birchbox. Because there was no information about this on the leaflet, I was confused for it by quite a while. On one end there is an eyeliner, and on the other end a smudger.

Like me you might assume that you apply the eyeliner, then smudge it out to create a messy line. However, after some research (and some horrific eyeliner looks), I found out that when the product is smudged it becomes a sheer eyeshadow to apply on the lid.

After figuring this out, I liked it so much better. The liner itself is very black, and is a creamy formula that is easy to apply. I like to put this on my upper lash line, and then smudge it at the corners to create a subtle smokey eye. The product lasted really well on the top of my eyes, but after a few hours it did smudge where I had applied it to the lower lash line.

Would I repurchase? Yes, I would like to try this is another colour.

 

And that’s everything! Sorry for the super long post, but I just had so much to say and I couldn’t control myself.

As you can see from the reviews the products in this box were pretty 50/50 for me, but that doesn’t mean I hated the box. On the contrary, I really enjoyed trying these new products and for £10, it was good value for money.

Will I repurchase? Yes, I am getting the next box as a gift for my mum (so no review I’m afraid), but I’m interested to see what products are included.

Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

 

 

17 thoughts on “April 2017 Birchbox Review

  1. I always hear mix reviews about Birchbox, I think that’s why I went with Ipsy for a subscription which I love. I also like the fact that every time I review a product it helps them to set me up with something even better, plus I like the points system to go towards other items. Everything you got sounded great & good luck with the next box!! Awesome review!! ♥

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

