Dragonfly in Amber – Book Review

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

2017-04-07 11.56.21.jpg

You know that it’s taken you a long time to read a book (a month to be precise) when Goodreads sends you an email to congratulate you on finishing. Despite it taking me forever to finish this novel, I LOVED IT.

My review contains spoilers, so proceed at your own risk.

Genre:

Historical Fiction, Romance

Plot:

Following on from the first novel Outlander, Dragonfly in Amber starts in 1968 with an older Claire Randall and her daughter, Brianna. She has returned to Scotland to reveal the truth about her life in 1743, and the stone circles that took her there. Claire begins to regale her tale of life with her Highlander husband Jamie Fraiser, as they live in Paris and consort with royalty. This novel follows their infiltration with Bonnie Prince Charlie and his attempts to claim the throne.

What I loved:

EVERYTHING. If I could leave this review at that I would, but as it is I have managed to pinpoint that things that stood out to me.

One thing I enjoyed about DiA was the change of scenery to Paris. As much as I loved the Scottish Highlands in the first novel, I enjoyed the descriptions of a new and interesting place (with less woodland haha).

The constant plot twists and shocking moments kept me hooked, and I actually found myself reading with my mouth gaping open at some points.

Claire’s and Jamie’s characters just got better as it went on, and I love seeing the progression of their relationship. I also loved the addition of little Fergus; his cheek and faithfulness made me smile and I can’t wait to see more of him (please say there’s more)!

What I didn’t love:

I had to think hard to find something to critique with this novel, but I managed it.

At times I found some figures (especially the royals) confusing to remember, and especially how they were all related to each other. However this was nothing a small bit of historical research couldn’t fix – I actually read up on the Battle of Culloden after I finished.

At the start and end of DiA the story is told in third person, which aside from being confusing, I also found a bit boring. I understand it was all crucial to the plot, but I would have much preferred Claire’s point of view.

Finally, the CLIFFHANGER! Although it was pretty easy to guess (there are 6 more books with a 7th on the way, so duh) I still need to know what happens. Immediately. As soon as I order it from Amazon.

Overall thoughts:

I can’t express my love for this series so far. I get so drawn into it and enjoy the story so much that I can forgive any misgivings.

Also, I just began the TV show – it’s better than I could ever have imagined, and I am well and truly hooked.

Rating: 5* /5

 

Originally,

Lexy

Follow me on Instagram – @originallylexy

Leave a Reply

