I’ve Got Your Number – Review

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella

2017-04-03_21.06.57.jpg

Considering how large of a book worm I am and how much I love reading, I am ashamed to say this is only my second book review on my blog, which should have come MUCH SOONER. While we’re on the topic, I am also ashamed that this is my first Sophie Kinsella read – as a lover of the film Confessions of a Shopaholic, I don’t know why I didn’t think to read a novel of hers before.

While I bask in my shame, here is my review. I have tried to make it as spoiler free as possible, but wherever I think there is a potential spoiler, I have marked it with a * .

Genre:

Chick Lit, Romance, Romantic Comedy

Plot Summary:

Poppy Wyatt, soon to be married to her dream man, loses her engagement ring (a family heirloom), and phone in the same day. Whilst running round trying to find them, her luck changes when she finds an abandoned phone in a bin. However the owner of the phone, business man Sam Roxton, is not happy that a stranger is receiving and reading all his messages. As Poppy falls deeper into a web of lies with her fiance, and is also trying to assist Sam by forwarding all the correspondence on her – stolen – phone, she is thrown into embarrassing and unpredictable situations that lead to a surprising conclusion.

What I loved:

I’ll be honest, this book really surprised me. I was expecting it to be an okay, quick read to get me through a bit of a reading slump. However, I instead found a hilarious book that I couldn’t put down. The main character Poppy is the epitome of awkward and cringe-worthy, but that’s what made me love and relate to her so much.

This book genuinely had me wincing out loud, and I just wanted to scream ‘WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!’ whenever Poppy did something embarrassing. I also think the other characters in the book, including her fiance Magnus, business man Sam, and Poppy’s best friends, were all great additions to Poppy’s character and really sold the story for me.

What I didn’t love * :

One thing I always struggle with in books is cheating/secretive couples. I usually can’t believe stories where the main character is supposed to be a good, lovely person, yet is cheating on their partner. Poppy is somewhat cheating on her fiance by keeping Sam a secret and sending flirty messages, which I didn’t particularly like. However, Magnus was such an arse to Poppy that I could find it tolerable.

Another thing I didn’t love was the ending. I won’t spoil it, but it just would not have happened in real life without some sort of altercation.

Favourite Quotes * :

‘You shouldn’t go into a marriage feeling inferior in any way.’

‘All I can say is, she’s the one I think about…All the time. She’s the voice I want to hear. She’s the face I hope to see’.

Overall thoughts:

I really did love this book, and would recommend to anyone who loved Confessions of a Shopaholic and similar books/films. Chick Lit is usually not my favourite genre of books, but if I ever find myself wanting to read something from that genre I will definitely be picking up another Sophie Kinsella novel.

Rating: 4.75* /5

 

Originally,

Lexy

I’ve created an instagram to go with this blog! Follow @originallylexy

 

Leave a Reply

