Top 10 Favourite Books

Top 10.jpg

Today I’ve decided to share my top ten favourite books. I have tried to not include any plots in my descriptions, as I personally enjoy to research books for myself. They are in no particular order; I love them all very much for different reasons. Happy reading!

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This is only a recent read for me, but it has firmly become an absolute favourite. If you are a historical fiction lover like myself, I would highly recommend this. Outlander has that perfect combination of action, adventure, and romance that makes a book so successful. I am currently reading the second book in the series, and loving it just as much.

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Only just now as I researched this book did I realise Neverwhere was actually written as a companion novel to a BBC TV series of the same name (which I am going to immediately watch). However, do not let that put you off – this novel takes the urban fantasy genre to another level.

More Than This by Patrick Ness

A theme you will see within this list is that I love books with plot twists – and More Than This is no exception. If you enjoyed series such as Gone or The Enemy, then this is ideal for you.

Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

I absolutely love Romeo and Juliet (not just the play, but also the film with the gorgeous Leonardo DiCaprio), and when I discovered this twist on the story, I knew I would love it. Noughts and Crosses is a modern retelling of the Shakespeare story, with just as much tragedy and heartbreak.

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I can remember reading the Hunger Games series one summer just before they became immensely popular (gold star for me right), and I tore through the trilogy in about a week. Catching Fire is by far my favourite of the three – the plot twists just kept coming, and the whole concept of the arena was just incredible to me.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The thing that drew me into this book most was the format, as the story is told through emails, reports, and interviews. Aside from how pretty the book is, the story is an epic adventure through space with plenty of twists and turns. I just bought the sequel novel, and hope it is as great as the first.

Maus by Art Spiegelman

Although this is a graphic novel, I still had to include it. Not only is the art in this novel incredibly imaginative, but the story itself is so moving and shocking (and true), you will speed through it in one sitting.

The Martian by Andy Weir

Another space themed book on the list, but completely different. The Martian is somehow a fiction book that you could almost believe was real (and some people did), as the science in the book is all correct and plausible. This book is full of humour, and I actually think the film adaptation did it justice (a rarity).

Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer

Like with Catching Fire, I read this book before the film came out. I genuinely think my mouth was open the whole novel at the massive plot twist the saga took.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I am usually not the biggest fan of contemporary, but this book is my exception. I loved all the characters, and the story was heartrendingly beautiful. If you have seen the film but not the book, I highly recommend giving this a go.

Honourable Mention: Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling

Although I haven’t included any of the books in the list, the Harry Potter series hold a special place in my heart (and my bookshelf). As someone who has visited the Warner Brothers Studio Tour twice now,  I would consider myself a rather big fan. I love the entire series equally, and couldn’t bear to single one out for my list.

 

Originally,

Lexy

10 thoughts on “Top 10 Favourite Books

  1. Just came across your blog! (I’ll be sticking around!) Great list, we share a few top books! Absolutely love Perks of Being a Wallflower, so much so I got my mum to read it! 110% agree with you on HP- the series is on it’s own league! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

