How to Revise for ALL Subjects

For a lot of students right now, exams are looming and the need to buckle down and properly revise is here (if you haven’t started already). Today I thought I’d share the methods I used throughout my GCSEs and A Levels, which helped me attain good grades in all my subjects. The step by step plan below is what I used for every subject, from product design to maths.

2017-03-09 15.09.53

 

  1. Split up your subjects.

    It’s no good knowing that you need the whole of a subject revised by the date of the exam. Split the subject you’re studying into manageable chunks e.g. by textbook chapters, or sub-topics. That way the revision content is not as intimidating, and can be revised in parts.

  2. Get a calendar and add goals.

    The next step is to track when everything needs to be done. Find yourself a calendar (I printed one for free from Pinterest), and add not only the dates of your exams, but also goals for when you want to finish revising a chunk of revision (from step 1).

  3. Condense your revision material into notes.

    Now to start the actual revision. Take your subject material, whether that’s your lesson notes or a textbook, and break it down into notes. There are a few ways to do this: bullet points; mind map; revision/index cards; and a poster or booklet. Making shortened notes will help to make the material more manageable and easier to learn. Tip – add lots of colour with fineliners and highlighters. Colour helps you to remember what you’ve written (and it looks pretty).

  4. Learn your notes.

    Sadly this is the most boring part. You need to take the notes you have made for yourself and learn them. I do this by either reciting the notes then covering them up, or I have someone else test me.

  5. Put it into practice.

    The best way to see if you have remembered what you’ve learned is by practicing with exam questions. First try the questions with your notes to help you, then at a later date try without. This helps to not only learn the content, but to also make sure you have remembered it later on.

  6. Keep going.

    Repeat steps 3 – 5 for every subject until you feel totally confident you know the content. Once you do, challenge yourself to whole exam papers under time constraints, to prepare you for the real thing.

 

As I said at the start, this is what I chose to do personally, but if you’ve found another method that works for you then stick to it! Not everyone learns the same way, so we don’t prepare for exams the same way either. I hope this was helpful, and if you have any questions let me know.

Originally,

Lexy

9 thoughts on “How to Revise for ALL Subjects

  1. Hii ! I actually use most of these tips except for the testing bit . I do test myself orally but whenever I try doing a written test before the exam I end up forgetting everything , I wish I knew why . Highlighters for the win !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

