The Queen of the Tearling – Review

The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen *spoiler free*

The Queen of the Tearling (1).jpg

First book related post on my blog! I thought I’d write a review on a recently read book to get started. I love finding out about new and interesting books, and I find that reading reviews is the best way to do it. I have tried to keep this review as spoiler free as I could. If you liked this type of post then please let me know, and I will continue to write more in the future.

Genre:

Fantasy, Young Adult

Plot Summary:

Kelsea Raleigh is the rightful heir to the throne of the Tearling, a land that has long abandoned modern technology and reverted back to a medieval-like state. She has been in hiding her whole life, until the Queen’s guard -protectors of her late mother – come to take her back to the kingdom and throne that rightfully belongs to her. Kelsea must learn how to rule the Tearling and its people, evade the vengence of the Red Queen of Mortmesne, and survive attack from assassins desperate to stop her claiming the throne.

What I loved:

Firstly, this book had some great characters; my favourites being the Mace and the Fetch. Both are mysterious and somewhat brutish, yet I found myself warming to them – this is unusual for me, as I often feel quite detached from this type of character. I think this shows that Erika Johansen has a great writing style that really allows you to be immersed into the story and its characters.

The Queen of the Tearling is the first book in a trilogy, and I think the series has gotten off to a great start. Johansen established the world very well, along with the society that has grown within it. I found the idea of turning your back on modern technology to revert to a time of the past very intriguing, and something I had never come across before.

What I didn’t love:

Despite me praising the world-building in the previous paragraph, I felt that it made the novel quite slow paced at times. I would have preferred slightly more action in the book, but as with most fantasy I can accept that time is needed to establish the universe, in order to understand it further on in the series.

Favourite Quotes:  (these quotes don’t include spoilers, but if you prefer not to read extracts of the book then feel free to skip).

‘The mark of a true hero is that the most heroic of his deeds is done in secret. We never hear of it. And yet somehow, my friends, we know.’

‘They couldn’t know that they were about to become players on the stage of history, and some to hold parts greater than they could ever have imagined.’

‘So many forces were at work against the Glynn Queen that she might have been a rock outcropping in God’s ocean, worn down by the inexorable tide. Instead, as history shows, she shaped herself.’

Overall Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book and found myself coming back to it and wanting to read more. I will definitely continue on with this series (who knows when, I have so many unfinished series I’ve lost count). I hope that the next novels are slightly faster paced, and sum up all the loose ends nicely.

Rating: 4.25* /5

 

Originally,

Lexy

2 thoughts on “The Queen of the Tearling – Review

Leave a Reply

